Skip to content
11.17.2010 / Colby Ivey

Lingerie and Church Planting

Two months ago marked the two year anniversary of my wedding day where I married the most beautiful, amazing woman of God I have ever known.

It has not been the most fun two years of my life.

It has been the best two years of my life.

Very few people tried to tell me how hard it would be, and those who did, I really didn’t believe anyway.  I thought, “Yeah, maybe it is hard for you, but we will have this thing figured out pretty quick.”  Ha.  Ignorance and immaturity were dripping off of me.  Don’t get me wrong, Mack is my favorite person in the world and, honestly, she already knows me better than I know myself.  She can complete my corny jokes before my mind is finished processing them.  We have a blast together and she is my best friend.  It is just that living so close with someone who wants God so bad causes sin to fall off, and that shot to my self-love hurts.  The past two years have experientially taught me more than all the books on sanctification ever could.  Sometimes iron sharpening iron is a painful process, but only a self-preserving coward would bow out of that sanctification process when it gets hard (I am not only speaking about marriage) and choose to settle for something less, something without all the cross-type pain we are called to “take up daily”.  I don’t want to live for my comfort at the expense of holiness and Kingdom reconciliation.

So now we are in the Northwest.  We are learning all of this, and searching out God’s heart for church planting.  Is it similar to marriage?  I sure don’t want to walk into this as immaturely as I did with marriage, but really, even if we do, I’m not too worried about it.  Jesus said HE would build His church, and the gates of hell would not prevail against it.  Our best or worst attempts will not thwart His plans for His Kingdom.  This is His work, and we get to join in through obedience.  His grace will abound in church planting, just as it has in marriage.

Should our team figure out what makes us feel the most comfortable?  Maybe.  But maybe what we have always known, the game we have learned to play, doesn’t have it all figured out.  Perhaps our gracious God will use the hard circumstances to refine us.  We are not going to intentionally pursue suffering, but as a church plant, we are not going to seek out comfort at all cost.  Instead, we are learning that we may have to “count the costs” (Luke 14:28) of following Jesus and if that is the avenue that brings real life, we want it.  We don’t want to be afraid of the process of losing our life, in order that we may actually find real life.

Like marriage is not all lingerie and roses, I have a feeling church planting won’t be all revival, fun and fame.  As we lead out in a new work of Christ’s Bride, we know it will be hard, but life and joy and the fruit of the Spirit who is leading us will come. That is worth it.

Our goal is to one day hear, “Well done, my good and faithful servant”.  We want to be faithful and obedient with whatever He brings us into. And perhaps we will even have the most fun imaginable on this adventure, and make the most of our journey in this life as we eagerly await our heavenly citizenship to be fully revealed.

Please pray for…
  • our trip to western Oregon this week to visit 3 potential cities to plant in.  Discernment, unity, and more discernment.
  • our two team members who are doing all of this long distance from Denton, Blake and Mere.
  • the ministry happening in Moscow, ID.
2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jessie / Nov 18 2010 8:46 am

    Well said my friend, living for eternity. I am learning that all over again.

  2. Jamie Hipp / Nov 18 2010 2:35 pm

    Catchy title. Good insights. A true love for the Gospel. Praying for your crew. Love you guys.

Leave a Reply

