Skip to content
08.11.2010 / D.O.

Things Are Better When Shared – 5.0

[The following is an email that D.O. sent to his friends and family on 08.08.10]

Short Version: We’ve been in the Northwest for just over a month, and this weekend at church Colby preached and Mack, Mikey, and I led worship. (We don’t mess around.) It was — so far as I can tell — good. Unrelated, a team blog is forthcoming, and you might love it. Maybe.

Awesome Version: On August 4th I had hoped to send a timely update informing you all that we’d been in the northwest for exactly a month, and that in our relatively short time here, we’d effectively created a new normal for ourselves. As it is, I’m writing you on the 8th, and you may not read it until the 9th. So while the part about having created a new normal still rings true, the amount of time is a little less round.

Tomorrow (or today, depending on how early you go to bed) will mark the start of our third full week of working at the Bookie (WSU’s bookstore). To date I’ve worked over 100 hours and done nothing more than move, count, and arrange thousands of textbooks. It’s the kind of job that Brother Lawrence would have loved, and everyone would have thought he was weird for enjoying. One thing that position does have going for it is this: it allows us to meet and build relationships with a number of college students. It doesn’t take long in the get-to-know-you conversation for them to ask why a group of people with degrees would move from Texas to work at a bookstore, at which point we have an open door to talk about why we are really up here… it’s a great opportunity. Join us in praying that we see it as such, because the goodness of the opportunities can easily be outweighed by the monotony and mindlessness of the work without the Spirit’s help.

Tonight (or last night, depending on how early you go to bed), our team was asked to lead Resonate’s worship service: Colby preached, and I led worship with fellow team members Mikey and Mackenzie. Colby preached on seeing God rightly, and how that changes the way we see ourselves, which then necessarily changes the way we live. I led the body in songs that speak truth about who He is, and who we are in Him (think: “because the sinless Savior died, my sinful soul is counted free”). It’s hard to say how it went, but I can count on one hand the number of times Colby and I messed up combined, so that’s good. Also, I felt as free as I’ve ever felt while leading worship, so that’s a huge win. Ultimately though, we have to let go of worrying how it went, and trust that the Spirit did move, and that it will continue to move in the hearts of the men and women who were present.

Next time you get an update from me (regardless of when you go to bed), it will contain a link to a blog that I’m working on for our team. Whereas these emails are from me, and are obviously written from my perspective, every team member will have the ability to contribute to that blog, which is exciting. It probably won’t win any awards, but I do think it will get the job done.

I cannot very adequately tell you all how thankful I am, and how thankful we all are, for your support, concern, and prayers. It is humbling, indeed.

Let me know how I can be praying for y’all.

Love,

D.O.

Short Version: We’ve been in the Northwest for just over a month, and this weekend at church Colby preached and Mack, Mikey, and I led worship. (We don’t mess around.) It was — so far as I can tell — good. Unrelated, a team blog is forthcoming, and you might love it. Maybe.

Awesome Version: On August 4th I had hoped to send a timely update informing you all that we’d been in the northwest for exactly a month, and that in our relatively short time here, we’d effectively created a new normal for ourselves. As it is, I’m writing you on the 8th, and you may not read it until the 9th. So while the part about having created a new normal still rings true, the amount of time is a little less round.

Tomorrow (or today, depending on how early you go to bed) will mark the start of our third full week of working at the Bookie (WSU’s bookstore). To date I’ve worked over 100 hours and done nothing more than move, count, and arrange thousands of textbooks. It’s the kind of job that Brother Lawrence would have loved, and everyone would have thought he was weird for enjoying. One thing that position does have going for it is this: it allows us to meet and build relationships with a number of college students. It doesn’t take long in the get-to-know-you conversation for them to ask why a group of people with degrees would move from Texas to work at a bookstore, at which point we have an open door to talk about why we are really up here… it’s a great opportunity. Join us in praying that we see it as such, because the goodness of the opportunities can easily be outweighed by the monotony and mindlessness of the work without the Spirit’s help.

Tonight (or last night, depending on how early you go to bed), our team was asked to lead Resonate’s worship service: Colby preached, and I led worship with fellow team members Mikey and Mackenzie. Colby preached on seeing God rightly, and how that changes the way we see ourselves, which then necessarily changes the way we live. I led the body in songs that speak truth about who He is, and who we are in Him (think: “because the sinless Savior died, my sinful soul is counted free”). It’s hard to say how it went, but I can count on one hand the number of times Colby and I messed up combined, so that’s good. Also, I felt as free as I’ve ever felt while leading worship, so that’s a huge win. Ultimately though, we have to let go of worrying how it went, and trust that the Spirit did move, and that it will continue to move in the hearts of the men and women who were present.

Next time you get an update from me (regardless of when you go to bed), it will contain a link to a blog that I’m working on for our team. Whereas these emails are from me, and are obviously written from my perspective, every team member will have the ability to contribute to that blog, which is exciting. It probably won’t win any awards, but I do think it will get the job done.

I cannot very adequately tell you all how thankful I am, and how thankful we all are, for your support, concern, and prayers. It is humbling, indeed.

Let me know how I can be praying for y’all.

Love,

Leave a Reply

